GenAmi 
  Français
The Jewish Genealogy Association 
Facebook




Genealogical research in Belgium

The Archives

by Micheline Gutmann

Liège
(postcard from Micheline Gutmann's collection)

The Royal General Archives

The Royal General Archives have microfilms of the parochial registers and registers of births, marriages and deaths, for Brussels use the following contact details:
Archives de l'Etat à Anderlecht - Quai F. Demets 7 - IO7O Anderlecht - Belgique
Tél : + 32(O)2 524 61 15 - Fax + 32 (O)2 52O 93 21
Website : http://arch.arch.be/agr_fr.htm

Readers’ registration

To carry out research in the archives it is necessary to be registered in order to obtain a library card. It costs 15Euros for a year (half-price for those under 24yrs). This card gives you access to the reading rooms and all the Archives in Belgium. It is necessary however to register in each archive, but this is free.

Les Archives de l'Etat à Anderlecht

Quai Demets 7 - B 1070 Anderlecht - Tel: 02/524.61.15
Fax: 02/520.93.21 - Site: http://arch.arch.be/anderlecht_fr.htm

Anderlecht Archive has a collection of microfilms of the registers of births, marriages and deaths (from 1796 to 1890) for the provinces of the Brabant, Hainaut, Namur and Liege and the population registers for certain communes of the old province of Brabant.

Flemmish Archives

Antwerp - Door Verstraeteplein 5 - 2018 Antwerpen - Tel & Fax: (+32) 03/236.73.00
Site : http://arch.arch.be/frame_nl_d2.htm

Beveren - Kruibekesteenweg 39/1- 9120 Beveren - Tel (+32) 03/750.29.77 - Fax (+32) 03/750.29.70
Rijksarchief.Beveren@arch.be
You can consult the microfilms for the whole of Dutch speaking Region.

Brugge - Academiestraat 14-18 - 8000 Brugge - Tel & Fax: +(32) 050/33.72.88 - +(32) 050/33.94.05
Rijksarchief.Brugge@arch.be

Gand - Geraard de Duivelstraat 1 - 9000 Gent - Tel & Fax: (+32) 09/225.13.38 - Rijksarchief.Gent@arch.be

Walloon Archives

Arlon - Parc des Expositions 9 - B 6700 Arlon - Tel & Fax: 063/22.06.13 - Archives.Arlon@arch.be

Liège - Rue du Chéra, 79 - 4000 Liège - Tel: (+32) 04 / 252.03.93 - Fax: (+32) 04 / 229.33.50 - Archives.Liege@arch

Mons - Place du Parc, 23 - 7000 Mons - Tel et Fax: (+32) 065/35.45.06 - Archives.Mons@arch.be - Archives.Mons@skynet.be

Namur - Rue d'Arquet, 45 - 5000 Namur - Tel & Fax: (+32) 081/22.34.98 - Archives.Namur@arch.be
The capital of Wallonia, they have the microfilms for the French speaking Region except for Luxemburg.

Tournai - Place Paul-Emile-Janson, 3 - 7500 Tournai - Tel (+32) 069/22.53.76
- Fax (+32) 069/54.54.83 Archives.Tournai@arch.be - Archives.Tournai@skynet.be